Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS)

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System is a structured risk assessment approach which assesses faults in a property and how they might affect the health and safety of both occupiers and visitors to the property.  The HHSRS considers how likely it is that a hazard would occur and how serious the outcome would be, and whether a hazard is significant and warrants intervention by a Local Authority.

If you are the landlord or tenant of a property and you think your property may contain hazards, we can carry out a full inspection / survey of your property, no matter what tenure of property (i.e. Council property, private rented, registered social landlord [RSL]), identify any Category 1 or 2 hazards, and draft a detailed HHSRS report including a schedule of works necessary to eliminate those hazards identified.


For tenants:

From the 1st of October 2015, new Legislation came into force where tenants of rented properties must complain in writing to their landlord of any disrepair within their rented property.  We can produce a report which can then be served on a landlord, which will identify all hazards within the property to enable them to carry out the necessary repairs.  The Local Authority will NOT be able to intervene in ANY disrepair cases unless you have complained to your landlord in writing first; our report will be your evidence for any further action including any compensation claims made against the landlord.

For landlords:

If you are a landlord and you disagree with any written complaints of disrepair made to you by tenants of your properties, this HHSRS report will be your defence (if no category 1 or 2 hazards are identified) in any subsequent action taken by the Local Authority.


The fee for a Housing, Health and Safety Rating inspection / survey and subsequent report starts at £195 to both landlords and tenants.

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System

Hazards in Bands A-C are classed as Category 1 Hazards requiring Mandatory action

by Councils.  Hazards in Bands D to J are Category 2 Hazards, which allow Council’s to exercise discretion, when deciding what action to take.  The system applies to all dwellings, regardless of ownership.


The HHSRS assessment looks at whether a property has:


  • dampness, condensation, and mould growth;

  • rats, cockroaches and other vermin infestations;

  • broken glass, falling plaster, or dangerous or decaying stairs;

  • faulty or dangerous gas or electrical installations;

  • blocked drains or problems with rubbish or sewage;

  • unacceptable noise levels;

  • damaged asbestos; and

  • smoke fumes or gases

It covers problems in communal areas and outside spaces as well as inside the house.  HHSRS was introduced under the Housing Act 2004, Part 1, Chapter 1(1) and applies to residential properties in England and Wales.


The HHSRS assesses 29 categories of hazard.  Each hazard has a weighting which will help determine whether the property is rated as having Category 1 (serious) or Category 2 (other) hazards.  The 29 hazards are:


A. Physiological requirements

1. Damp and mould growth

2. Excess cold

3. Excess heat

4. Asbestos and MMF

5. Biocides

6. Carbon monoxide and fuel combustion products

7. Lead

8. Radiation

9. Uncombusted fuel gas

10. Volatile organic compounds


B. Physiological requirements

11. Crowding and space

12. Entry by intruders

13. Lighting

14. Noise


C. Protection against infection

15. Domestic hygiene, pests and refuse

16. Food safety

17. Personal hygiene, sanitation and drainage

18. Water supply


D. Protection against accidents

19. Falls associated with baths etc.

20. Falling on level surfaces etc.

21. Falling on stairs etc.

22. Falling between levels

23. Electrical hazards

24. Fire

25. Flames, hot surfaces etc.

26. Collision and entrapment

27. Explosions

28. Position and operability of amenities etc.

29. Structural collapse and falling elements

Copyright Danhaus Property Services 2017